The independent special districts in Santa Cruz County have three positions on the LAFCO board.  The current Special District representatives are Jim Anderson (Felton Fire Protection District) and Rachél Lather (Soquel Creek Water District).

Commissioner Lather, previously LAFCO’s Alternate Special District Member, was recently elected to be the new Regular Special District Member following the departure of Tom LaHue. As a result, the Special District Alternate Member seat on LAFCO is now vacant.

Three nominations for this position were received by the June 7th deadline and ballots have been sent to the boards of the 23 special districts. The deadline for ballots to be returned to the LAFCO office and counted is 4pm, July 26th.

LAFCO staff is available to answer any questions about the election process.

Translate »