BeachWelcome to the Santa Cruz Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) website. This website continues to be a work in progress. If you happen to find a broken link, or you cannot find or access the information you are looking for, please call 831-454-2055 or email deb@santacruzlafco.org.

The Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) was created by State law in 1963 to regulate the boundaries of cities and special districts. There is a LAFCO in each of the 58 counties of California. The objectives of LAFCO are:

  • to encourage efficient service areas for services provided by cities, counties, and special districts;
  • to guide urban development away from prime agricultural lands and open space resources;
  • to promote orderly growth; and
  • to discourage urban sprawl.

The LAFCO Commission in Santa Cruz County is comprised of seven members: two city council members chosen by the mayors of the cities in the County (City Selection Committee), two County supervisors chosen by the Board of Supervisors, two special district board members chosen by the twenty-four independent special district board chairpersons in the County, and a public member chosen by the other members of LAFCO.

As a public agency, LAFCO discusses and acts upon its business monthly in open public meetings. We welcome your interest and participation in the important matters under study by LAFCO.

Continue Reading
2015-08-07 20.01.07

Review of Fire Districts

A revised draft of the fire agencies was published for the November 2, 2016 meeting: Fire Agencies Review (Revised Draft October 2016) The Commission approved fire service reviews for all agencies excluding Aptos / La Selva FPD, Central FPD, and CSA 48 County Fire. They also directed staff to meet with local fire agencies to determine the context […]

Continue Reading
Lompico Recording 6-1-16 - Copy


The Lompico merger with the San Lorenzo Valley Water District was completed on June 1, 2016. Pictured (left to right) at the recording in the County Recorder’s office were: Jim Rapoza, former SLVWD board member Pat McCormick, LAFCO Executive Officer Bruce McPherson, County Supervisor Lois Henry, last Lompico Water District President Brian Lee, SLVWD General […]

Continue Reading

Review of Recreation & Park Districts

At its April 6, 2016 meeting, the Commission approved the Hearing Draft for the Recreation and Park Districts’ Services and Spheres of Influence. HEARING DRAFT Errata: On pages 22 and 23 of the public review draft, the discussion of the operations of the Opal Cliffs Recreation District contains errors concerning the Coastal Commission permits.  A staff report was prepared for […]

Continue Reading

Translate »